top of page
Writer's pictureMiriam Elisabeth Sticher

Christmas

Christmas was very different this year. Since NZ is in the southern hemisphere, it is summer here. We had an average temperature of 25°C (75°F). The stores would still play the regular Christmas music, like "It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas" and "Let it Snow". That always felt very ambivalent. Kiwis (people from NZ) love Christmas. Everything is decorated. One store I was at had buoys with Christmas trees on them, which was funny. Most of CBD is decorated with lights and Christmas balls. A lot of houses also go full out, similar to the US, with Christmas lights, fake icicles, and figures,... Because it was so hot, and I had just arrived in NZ, so I never really got into the Christmas spirit. Kiwis celebrate Christmas on the 25th, but I decided to celebrate Christmas on the 24th, anyways.

A friend of mine from Austria and I wanted to spend Christmas Eve together. We decided to go to Waiheke Island. I went there earlier than her. When I was waiting for the bus on Waiheke Island, I met a somewhat older woman from the US. Her name is Neena. We started talking and decided to explore the island together. We went to Onetangi Beach. She told me a lot about her life, which was very interesting. She invited me to her hotel the next evening to celebrate Christmas Day a bit. My friend, Marley, arrived at Onetangi Beach. The rest of the day Marley and I spent at the beach. It was so cool to spend Christmas at the beach. That was exactly how I imagined how I would celebrate Christmas in NZ. In the afternoon we headed back to Auckland. Marley invited a couple she had met at the airport to go out for drinks with us. We went to a bar at the harbor. It was so cool to spend Christmas with people from all over the world.

On the evening of Christmas Day, I went to Neena's hotel. We cooked some Indian food, which was delicious, and talked a lot. We enjoyed each other's company very much.

This Christmas was indeed like no Christmas I ever celebrated before, but it was a blast.



Kommentare


bottom of page