top of page
Writer's pictureMiriam Elisabeth Sticher

Moving to Tauranga

Updated: Feb 17, 2023

As I previously mentioned I wanted to get out of Auckland. Therefore, I left as soon as the family from the house I was staying at came back. I had already decided that my next stop was gonna be Tauranga I moved there on December 27th. Tauranga is a small town right on the east coast, just 2 hours south of Auckland. The beaches here are quite beautiful and you can do all different kinds of water sports. I am currently living in a hostel at Mount Maunganui, which is a lively area with a lot of different stores and bars. It is a peninsula, so there are lots of beaches everywhere. It is a great place to spend the summer, so I decided to do just that.

Since I will be staying here for a bit I decided to look for a job. I do have something lined up, but I'll tell you more about it when I know more. It is also pretty tough to travel around New Zealand just by bus. You can get to the most important cities, but once you're there it's hard to do anything. For example, there are quite a few beautiful waterfalls around Tauranga, but there's no way to get there without a car. Also, the last buses go around 7 or 8 pm, so you can't do anything in the evenings. That's why I decided it's probably best to buy a car. I'm currently looking for one that's not too expensive. I'll keep you updated.

The hostel I'm currently staying at is awesome! It's very clean and everyone is keen to meet new people, so it's easy to make new friends. You're never alone if you don't want to. The location is also amazing. It's 10min by foot to the beach, and 15 to downtown. I love this place!

Two weeks ago two friends of mine, one of whom I actually met on the plane and went to Taipei with, went to McLaren falls. Those were really cool. We got to swim in them and jump from some cliffs.

One thing I missed from Germany is bread. I already knew that I was going to miss it. I've been baking my own bread for a year, so I thought I could just do the same thing here. When I went to the store for the first time I was surprised that they didn't even have the flour and yeast I was used to. I decided to give it a shot anyways and made my first bread yesterday! It went surprisingly well. It was done at 10:30 pm and a lot of people were in the kitchen. It was funny because the Italians were making pizza and pasta from scratch and I made bread. All the clichés were fulfilled. Well, everyone wanted to try it. They all loved it. Especially the Germans appreciated it so much. I was happy to give them a piece of home. After such a success I will definitely continue baking my own bread.


Comments


bottom of page